Eight of nine clubs in action for opening weekend

CHICAGO (Feb. 7, 2014) - The National Women’s Soccer League unveiled today the complete 2014 regular season schedule, which kicks off on Saturday, April 12 with eight of the nine clubs in action.

Opening weekend begins on Saturday, April 12, Houston Dash host defending champion Portland Thorns FC in their inaugural match and FC Kansas City take on Sky Blue FC. On Sunday, April 13, Washington Spirit host the NWSL Shield Winners Western New York Flash and Seattle Reign FC face Boston Breakers. A week later, the Chicago Red Stars will play their first match of the season against the Western New York Flash on Saturday, April 19.

Check Out the Complete 2014 NWSL Schedule.

Each of the league’s nine clubs will play a total of 24 games during a 19-week span, with a schedule consisting of 12 matches at home and 12 away, and a high percentage of games being played on weekends and holidays.

The regular season will conclude the weekend of Aug. 16-17 with all eight of the nine clubs in action during the final two days of the campaign. Leading up to the regular season finale, every team will host at least one game in August and no team will travel outside of its own time zone during the season’s final week.

The top four teams will qualify for the NWSL playoffs and compete in the semifinals on Aug. 23-24. The NWSL will crown its 2014 champion after the final on weekend of Aug. 30-31.

Broadcast information for the league will be announced in the near future.

Official Sponsors
National Guard
Nike Logo